Why I Heal

Kurn wrote a post recently talking about being a woman in WoW.  It’s a long ass post – that woman rambles.  (Well, no she makes very long executed and well formed points, but I dissemble.)  I wrote a long post too.   And the comments and questions she answers are very thoughtful as well, so here are a few of my opinions.  One topic that is first on my list is this: Yeah, I’m a woman and I heal – so fucking what.

What do you think about women choosing healing classes?

Well.  I heal.  I’m a woman.  I hate how stereotypical that seems.  I don’t like people pressing me into that role as much as I dislike people pressing me into the kitchen, dispute that I might be a good cook.

I started out DPSing on my mage.  It wasn’t fulfilling in a raid situation.  Why?  Guys are jerks.  Errrr…I mean…no, guys, they are jerks.   I don’t find maximizing every second in a raid for maximum dps all that interesting.  I don’t get off on having a larger e-phallus than the next guy.  (I like maximizing my personal level of play.)  I don’t like meter comparison.  That competition just doesn’t inspire me.  And a lot of the time I don’t think it’s helpful to the raid.  Kurn lists some great resources on why women are drawn to different roles.  (No really, check them out!)  And Kurn listed an excellent link to an example of healer meter humping that turned my stomach when I first heard it.

Why does healing feel differently to me?

It’s cooperative by nature. We’re all in this to keep people alive.  Sure, it can be incredibly demanding and stressful, but our ultimate goal is working together to make sure that as many people as possible live.  Yes, there are still guys who are just trying to top the charts and look good, but that’s not the point.  A good healing team doesn’t work that way.

It’s strategic. Yes, there are moments of Bubble Spam For the Win.  There’s Whack a Mole healing.  But there are a lot of ways to make quick, instinctive, strategic choices to keep people alive. Instead of pushing buttons in a particular order as quickly as possible, healing is a lot more mentally engaging and challenging.

There’s a lot more utility. Something I’ve noticed recently is that people who are battle resed or ank don’t get full buffs quickly.  I like buffing them.  I haven’t run the meters on this, as much as I’m tempted to, but I’d guess I do the vast majority of that rebuffing in our raids from a priestly perspective.  I’ve never been congratulated over this; I don’t think anyone really notices.  But does it help our raids?  Absolutely.  Does it make me look good?  Nope, doesn’t help my HPS at all.  But I’m proud of doing my part.  There are plenty of ways to have good utility in raids.  Buffs mid fight, dispelling, CC, keeping loose adds off healers, everything counts.  It’ll be more important even come Cataclysm.

Where Are all the Women?

I’ve never had more than a couple regularly active solid women in a guild I’ve been in.  Right now it’s 3 in a roster of about 30.  I’m a minority in WoW.  I’ve gotten used to it.  I’ve seen a lot of posts lately – from feminists even – stating that women are just less likely to be progressive.  Too much stress, too much time, too much…dear god, maybe we should shut up and be silent and take care of the kids while our husbands down bosses then?

It may not appeal to everyone, but I love pushing content.  I really wonder if there’s not a lack of women interested in playing well as much as there is a lack of women interested in putting up with the male privilege and hanging out in the boys club generally needed in order to see progression.

There have been very few links to women who are progressed in content or are raid/guild leaders.  I seem to find quite a few of them around an am considering a post just about that.  How do our women keep getting so overlooked?  By other women who are kicking ass?

A Case Study

I’m not trying to pick on Adam.  But his post and Chas’ rebutal was really worth reading.  While it’s frustrating, it’s very illuminating as well.  (Also, dear god, checking out his follow up posts and the comments everywhere, that particular “discussion” has just gotten disgusting.)  The basic post was Adam getting annoyed that women were speaking up about female role models in WoW, and how they had no real right to take over his hobby, mostly best I can tell because girls made fun of him in high school for playing video games.  Go take a look; I’m posting one of my comments on this discussion:

I don’t think Adam is being miss-attributed. Adam isn’t complaining about how he is *treated* by female players. He’s incredulous that they are asserting their opinions (on private blogs no less, not even directly at him) about the game at all – because their enjoyment of the game shouldn’t be taken into consideration by the developers. Women asserting it might be nice to, say, have a stronger female role model in the game isn’t an attack on men. It’s not about treating men differently, and it wouldn’t completely destroy his fantasy of having a big sword and kicking ass – it’s about increasing the game’s appeal to a portion of their audience.

“It is what a fantasy video game has always been as well as the whole fantasy genre; big guys with swords killing each other at an alarming rate with semi-naked females scattered around for your viewing pleasure.”

He’s not complaining about how women interact with him, he’s upset we even bothered to open our mouths. Clearly, we should just shut up and demurely lounge around half naked for his pleasure, waiting to get drug off to get ravished in a cave.  (Yes, he really said that.)

What he’s saying boils down to: WoW is a boys club, made by and for boys. If girls want to show up, that’s fine, but its offensive if they expect to be treated as full members.

That’s what’s getting my panties in a twist (and what a condescending phrase that is). It’s *his* hobby…and yours…and any other guy’s. But it’s not mine. I shouldn’t get a say.

Why? Because he is resentful of a few girls who made fun of him twenty years ago. (And of course those actions should reflect on every single woman in existence for the rest of eternity.) Frankly, I’m astonished that women didn’t flock to his obvious charm and sensitivity.

Do you think women raiders aren’t taken as seriously?

As Kurn said…Abslolutely.  We aren’t.  We get more shit about “drama” and wining drops when we’re “not really part of the team”, and how much we contribute – much more than any man I’ve ever seen.  If you are a guy, you have no clue how hard it is for a woman to work her way into a respected raid position.  Every bit of gear, every movement in a fight, every mistake, every wipe that might have been her fault, every drop a Real Guy didn’t win…are all things she needs to get past to succeed.  We are not – with few exceptions – taken the least bit seriously.  We fight for that part.

Oh sure, I’ve gotten through silly PuG raids on a new to 80 character because OMG I sound sexy and all, and no one cared I’d never been there before or made mistakes or didn’t have gear.  Gee, that felt good.  Really.  I’m very glad I’ve found a guild now where gender just doesn’t seem to matter.

Do you think women don’t play tank characters because of the preconceived notion that tanks = men?

I don’t know.  I think there are a lot of things involved in that discussion.  I’ve heard a lot of good tanks I know say that raid tanking is unbearably easy.  But it can be hell leveling.  Come on?  We all know those jerks the the LFD who make everything difficult.  I’m leveling a tank now, and I’ll tell you its the most stressful thing I’ve done in the game aside from a few epic healing moments.

I didn’t avoid playing a tank for so long out of stress or some weird preconceived notion of masculinity.  I hated melee.  And I didn’t know the instances well enough to lead them.  Well, a bit more time (and support from my boyfriend who helps me the first time I’m anywhere with pulls and direction) spent in Azeroth, and I’m more comfortable with that. I’m personally excited to give this a shot in raids as soon as I get there in level.  Just to say I did.

Have I ever seen women main tanking in raids?  Nope.  I’m sure it happens, but it’s definitely the most rare position for a woman to fill.  It’s also the hardest position to join a guild with, male or female, just because of how critical it is.  With how rare women are to begin with, I’m not convinced there’s a statistical significance.  (Does anyone have any statistics on this?)

One thing my boyfriend told me when I was starting out tanking was that he had a lot of motivation to hit bad guys with a big sword.  I instantly knew I didn’t.  We’d have to find something else.  And I did.  The strategy of a perfect efficient multi-pull through an instance.  It was thoughtful, it was interesting, I had to adjust for the group I had, I had to spin plates to keep threat,  and the efficiency…well as one of those silly girls with a grad degree in a business field…efficiency gets me all hot and bothered.

Oh Noes!  I flirted.  Just Kill me Now.

Yeah.  Okay.  I’m a woman.  Get over it.  Having a conversation in vent along the lines of “OMG It’s a girl” is about as interesting as the “Gosh, you have such amazing breasts!!!” I tend to get in bars.  It might occasionally be a complement, but it’s not a conversation.  (Where on earth do you guys expect that conversation will lead?)   It gets boring.  Real fast.

I like flirting, though I tend to avoid it in the game because it gets way too much attention.  I’d rather be taken seriously.  I think things that resemble panties for tanking are absurd, but whatever, there are always alternative gear choices.  Do I mind the sexuality obvious in WoW?  Hell, I like looking at a cute Blood Elf ass.  I just think there are more important things to think about – like theory crafting and boss strategy.

~ by ecclesiasticaldiscipline on August 28, 2010.

26 Responses to “Why I Heal”

  1. I think women pick their roles for different reasons. For example, I tend towards playing healers in a raid environment not because I’m nurturing but because I’m a control freak. On top of that, I find healing a lot more engaging because it’s not so much figure out the perfect rotation and then spam that until the boss dies, its see what’s happening and react.

    As for being taken seriously as a raider, I can honestly say that I have never ever had my gender used against me in a raid environment. No one has ever patronised me by saying “oh you’re good for a girl” nor have I ever had to fight for a raid spot. I’ve never felt excluded either. Yes, I accept that those type of jerks exist, but not all raiding guilds are like that (although perhaps I’ve just been lucky).

    As for the progression bit, I wonder if that’s partly due to the fact that not all the females who are progressed in-game write about the PvE side of things. For example in the vast majority of my game time, I’ve been in decent guilds (server firsts, killed C’thun, tribute to insanity 25 person before Icecrown was released etc etc) yet my blog doesn’t reflect that because it’s not particularly interesting to write about. Somebody flicking through my blog would probably not know that A. I was female (ok, they could probably figure that bit out) or B. that I had any interest in raiding whatsoever. Whilst my raiding is currently on hiatus until Cataclysm, I don’t expect to have any issues then either.

    That said, I used to be a recruitment officer and possibly for every 100 apps we got maybe 1 from a woman and I would love to know why. Yes, there are less women over all playing the game, but those figures don’t reflect the breakdown.

    “I’ve seen a lot of posts lately – from feminists even – stating that women are just less likely to be progressive. Too much stress, too much time, too much…dear god, maybe we should shut up and be silent and take care of the kids while our husbands down bosses then?”

    I wonder if pve progression is a bit like pvp. I know quite a few women who hate pvp because they aren’t particularly aggressive. I on the other hand, am exceedingly aggressive and I love both.

    In a sense I would prefer that to be the reason over

    “there is a lack of women interested in putting up with the male privilege and hanging out in the boys club generally needed in order to see progression.”

    because unless you apply to a guild, you don’t know what the atmosphere is like and therefore can’t really judge. Not trying raiding because of a perception would be horrible.

    • I think you’ve just been lucky! I think it also varies a lot from server to server. In the past I’ve been stuck with a situation where you raided with misogynistic assholes or you were casual. There just wasn’t another option. So I switched servers to find a guild that was right for me. That can be a big step to take though, and I’m not sure everyone would want to (or can afford to).

      I do think that the first experiences I had raiding (PUGs and very casual raiding guilds) involved a lot more issues with being a woman. Unfortunately, there was a lot of slogging through that before I learned enough as a player to be good enough to move on to a more female friendly guild.

      Sure, I think women can tend to be less competitive and aggressive. That’s not what drives me. But I am driven to raid for other reasons.

      I don’t think there’s really an “answer” to this…but thanks for your thoughts.

  2. I have more to say (hahaha, beware the rambling!) but I did want to specifically say this:

    I really wonder if there’s not a lack of women interested in playing well as much as there is a lack of women interested in putting up with the male privilege and hanging out in the boys club generally needed in order to see progression.

    THAT is a great point. I think you might definitely be on to something. That’s why I LOVE my current guild. It’s not a boys club, there’s very little male (or female) privilege. We all act as though we’re, you know, human beings. It’s great. And my own old guild was like that, too.

    Also, glad you enjoyed my meter humping example. When I first saw that, I was like “that dude would never, ever heal for me. Ever.”

    Also, I really like the collaboration and cooperation between healers and I’m glad you brought that up. I LOVE being part of a team within a team, knowing I can rely on X or Y or Z to do A or B or C as assigned but still use a global to toss a heal my way or something. We look out for each other.

    I also totally did not realize how progressed a raider you are. I’m gonna edit my post at some point to add you and a couple of others. Maybe women just don’t advertise their progression as loudly as men?

    • *nods* I love that about my guild as well. But I’ve been on servers where there just wasn’t that option. You raided with misogynistic assholes or you were casual.

      Yeah, I’ve healed with That Guy before…and it was a miserable experience I’d never choose to repeat. Honestly I’m a bit surprised that healers with attitudes like that find their way into serious raiding. Healing should be collaborative. The goal isn’t to push out numbers, it’s to keep people alive.

      My progression is posted on my “about me” blurb on my front page, so I’m not exactly hiding it. But I don’t advertise it either. I’ll also say that I still feel a little self-conscious about writing technical posts when there are so many people out there who do it better than I do. I still have trouble thinking of myself as the “expert”. I’ve come a long way in the game in the last 9 months; I’m very proud of how much I’ve grown as a player. I like to think I’m driven to improve myself every week. It’s probably about time I shake off the last of the insecurities that (were reinforced in a lot of my old guilds) I’m not that good of a player. I’m sure I’m not the best priest out there – I make plenty of mistakes – but I’m pretty good. Actually, my goal for the next couple weeks is to figure out how to get more information out of WoL reports, and really fine tune my performance over the next month.

      I’ve been posting a lot about leveling alts and comparative healing, as a big focus of mine right now is figuring out who I’m going to want to heal with for Cataclysm and making sure I have all four options ready. But that’s a cop out too. I could just as easily post about gearing choices, or our progress on Heroic Hallion, or things of that nature. I have a mostly written series on healing Heroic 25s…and I don’t know why I don’t just push “publish” on some of those. Food for thought.

  3. Thanks for the linkback!

    That whole discussion really did get ugly. I feel a little bad about my part in the whole thing, it’s just that the whole thing made me really, really angry.

    • It’s ultimately a terribly frustrating and anger inducing series of posts and comments. I wanted to point it out though, because it’s such a perfect example of how unconscious male privilege is. I don’t think you should feel bad about it though…you made some very good points and some people (like me) found it very interesting.

      • Agreed. I tend to run in rather conservative/libertarian circles, in which a)feminism is thought of as one of the preserves of Those People That Think In Alien Ways, and b)the women tend to be both armed and opinionated, so we also experience relatively little in the way of “this is the problem that needs attention and solutions”. The whole discussion was deeply fascinating to me and I’ve especially appreciated your exchanges with the ones Not Getting It At All.

  4. I actually am a woman and our guild’s main tank, and at least two of the competitive progression guilds on our server are led (and in one case tanked by) women. We’re an RP server, though, and the “boys’ club” culture simply isn’t quite as tolerated.

    I do tank because I’m a control freak. I want to make the pull to make sure it’s done right and I want the capacity to rescue the pull when things go squirrelly. Planting my heels and not moving in the face of pressure also suits my personality quite well- I tend to be quite the immovable object. Ironically I find raid healing ludicrously stressful and I was so happy to scurry back into position in front of the dragon. (There was a misbegotten experiment with having my co-tank handle the adds on Valithria and me be a portal healer because I was a paladin… the whole debacle defined “bring the player, not the class”.)

    I think part of it is that while both men and women receive cultural training in how to be an assertive leader, the tanking style- step forward and say “we’re going this way and and in this order” and proceed as though everyone is going to follow you- fits the “male mold” more.

    • It’s good to hear from people who are scoffing at these assumed barriers. One thing I thought interesting about the Bossy Pally’s list of progressive women, was that it was, entirely healers. I’ve seen more woman GM’s and RLs than I have tanks. Sure, I imagine she follows more healer blogs than tanks or dps, but still. There has just got to be *one* out there.

      Thanks for letting me know why you enjoy tanking. It makes sense to me of course, but I imagine that a lot of guys who tank like it for different reasons. I’m glad you’ve found the conversation interesting and I hope to continue to see you around here. :)

      P.S. I am terrible with the portals as well. Thankfully no one ever wants to send a disc priest in anyways.

      • Yes, the main reason I only linked to progressive healers is just because progressive blogs tend to target a very specific audience so I’m only familiar with the paladin blogs. I only knew about Dawn Moore’s raiding history because she’s friends with my GM. Of paladin blogs, Morrigan is a high end (I think…) ret pally blogger, but she hasn’t updated in forever.

        There actually are quite a few female tanking bloggers. The whole reason I didn’t make a list of female tanks is because there are so many of them. I don’t know of their focus, though, those I’m familiar with aren’t really into competitive raiding.

        (BTW, I’ll update my list with you and Beru, sorry for being slow at getting around to that)

  5. I loved your post! I’m really enjoying reading about everyone’s personal experiences. We should totally all do this more often.

    I realized one thing as I’ve been reading through comments. My guild? Total boys club. I’ve never seen more than 4 female raiders, including myself, at a time. The guys are young, aggressive and the testosterone is dripping off the walls. During my first few raids, I was completely terrified (it’s a lot mellower now that we have a new raid leader, though).

    Fairness-wise, though, they’ve been awesome. Gear distribution (we have a loot council), after-raid feedback, raid spots, judgment of new applicants- I play close attention and I’ve never noticed any unfairness. When I complained that being cussed out and raged at when I screwed up was starting to chip away at my confidence, they listened and eased up immediately.

    And now, I’m *glad* that my guild is a boys club. I love hearing the guys mocking each other, I’m not worried when tempers flare during raids and I find their competitive spirit endearing.

    I’m not sure where I was going with that, but I guess I wanted to express how lucky I’ve been.

    I haven’t been in many guilds so I don’t know, but I wonder if very high end, professional guilds are fairer towards their female players since they’re more focused on efficiency and output over WHO their players are, while slightly less advanced, wannabe hardcore guilds composed of living epeens are more prejudiced.

    Looking at a different angle of women in progressive guilds, there’s also the fact that the level of socialization in a serious raiding guild isn’t very deep. The main reason WoW and MMOs are so appealing to so many women who wouldn’t otherwise be gamers is because of the heavy social component. In a serious guild, most of the socialization is geared towards a goal (killing bosses) and socializing just to socialize (which so many women enjoy- hence the popularity of groups like wow-ladies) is way rarer than in a social/casual guilds.

    And speaking as a woman in a boys club, the hardest thing for me has nothing to do with discrimination or our aggressive environment. It’s actually the lack of other women to bond with. I do have a few male guildies with brilliant social skills whom I can have good conversations with when I catch them alone, but it’s still not comparable to the heart-to-hearts I had with my female guildies when I was in a casual guild.

    • I’m glad so many women have picked up this (mostly) positive conversation talking about their experienced. I also love hearing their stories.

      My experiences and impressions have also been that more casual guilds have a lot more negative competition, misogyny, and unfairness. I was really shocked that moving to a significantly more progressive guild resulted in all of those issues melting away.

    • This! I never had a problem with my old “boys’ club” guild (they were nice people and I loved most of my time with them), but the lack of girls was pretty sad at times. We did have 3-4 of them, but they weren’t very chatty. In the end it was for the best though – when a new girl applied we hit it off right away and now we have a guild together :)

      A guild which is very social, I might add. Our regular team has 3 women (me – healer, my friend – tank and RL, another woman – healer) and 7 guys, with 3-4 who like to talk crap just as much as us (if not more). I get my raiding fix and I have way more fun socializing with them than I do at work – win!

  6. Oh, and I completely forgot to mention flirting!

    I’m not ashamed to say that I flirt in game. HOWEVER I do not flirt with strangers (I’m all business all the time when I pug) and I was the perfect amoeba during my first few months in my guild. I was even anxious about giving Christmas gifts to a few of the guildies was closer to, and I had been in the guild for a good two months by then.

    With good friends who are about my age and single, though, I flirt gently. I’m also fine with people, even some strangers, flirting with me as long as it’s not creepy or too explicit. I mean, I’ve been single for, what, 3-4 years? With the exception of the odd fling or drunk guy in a bar, flattery in game is the only warm-blooded human being treatment I get. Single girls need loving too.

    • I feel about the same way as you do. I don’t mind hanging out with the boys and tossing a bit of banter around. And I do enjoy some light flirting personally.

      There are some women though who feel like other women flirting bothers them and reinforces stereotypes.

      In my current guild, it’s just not as much part of the culture, which is also fine with me.

    • This too :P Though, ironically, the guys in my guild flirt among themselves more than us girls… One of them *is* gay, but the others (including my boyfriend, who has alts in the guild) are straight, and yet the “man love” jokes never end… I got my first taste of light flirting last night, when a new recruit (very nice guy) acted a bit shocked when I mentioned my boyfriend. I don’t mind though, as long as he doesn’t get creepy all the “OMGGIRL!” thing amuses me a whole lot. Especially since he has no idea what we look like… maybe it’s the hot Eastern European accent :P

    • I don’t flirt. Pretty much at all. :) I basically hammered it into the brains of my raiders, back in BC, that I was RAID LEADER KURN and that I just happened to have a pleasant speaking voice, as a woman.

      As such, everyone just treats me as RAID LEADER KURN. And I’m good with that. It’s kind of annoying to make sure I don’t cross the flirting line with anyone I consider a friend (I flirt IRL fairly frequently) but it makes up for it because I’ve never indicated to any of my raiders that I want them. I’ve de-sexualized myself in terms of being a woman when raiding with my folks. While my more feminine qualities come out (I’m all about communication and like to know what others are thinking) and they help me be a better GM or officer or whatever, my gender never comes into play. Which is beautiful, really, at least for me, considering I rolled my male hunter first in the hopes of anonymity! :)

      I’ve tried hard to stick to that “KURN THE HEALER” in my guilds since my BC guild, and it’s worked pretty well. I just don’t want a repeat of “OMG IT’S A GIRL, IT’S A GIRL-GIRL!!!!” stuff I experienced shortly after I left my BC-era guild. :P

  7. Of my level 80′s I have 4 healers, 1 tank and 1 DPS. And oddly enough, the DPS is the class I play the least. The only action she really gets these days is making wather for 10 mans when we don’t have a mage and JC stuff! Of course my very first character that raiding up through AQ40 was a hunter, and I was good at it. But I just find healing so much more rewarding.

    I do enjoy tanking, but I love healing. And a little bit, I think the reasoning for it mirrors Erinys’, it’s not that I’m “nurturing”, it’s that I’m a control freak. I also think that is why parts of Heroic Sindragosa frustrate me so much, because there are times that you just have to stop.

    I find that the interactive, and ever changing nature of healing is a more intruiging and challenging to me as a player. I’m not saying that other forms of play aren’t, just that healing tends to keep my mind more engaged than other playstyles. I don’t think that would change regardless of my gender. :)

  8. This is an amazing post, I’m sorry I missed it out in my linkspam! I think your point about us not participating in progressive raiding because we value not being in a very negative environment is a great one. I push very strongly for an environment I want to play in, in the guild I’m in, but not every woman is in a group of friends that is amenable to that.

    I enjoy playing as an Elemental Shaman because it requires me to talk to my fellow shaman to coordinate totem placement/choices, and to talk with the warlocks over demonic pact, because my buffs bring something to the team, and because I can do many different things in fights that require multiple skills – kite, knockback, interrupt, burst dps, aoe. ‘Metre humping’ goes into it, but I thrive on knowing I’ve done my best.

    I find it somewhat hilarious that ‘flirting’ is always perceived as being the woman’s fault. Because men never flirt? Because they passively accept that? It takes 2 (or more) to flirt, and if a woman does it she is automatically bad? wtf? I think that’s an attitude women AND men can afford to drop. Flirting isn’t evil. Something that has always frustrated me as a feminist and reading blogs by women before I started blogging was the…’slut shaming’ of any woman who dared to be even vaguely sexual in her socialisation, and yet no condemnation of the men who flirted back.

    • I think that’s a great point to be made on flirting. I know I just touched on that a little at the end…but it probably deserves a whole post of its own.

      Nice to see you here!

      P.S. Thanks for the Twitterlove.

  9. I started out as DPS – my first char was a warrior because I wanted to hit things with axes. I liked (and still do) the idea of a tiny woman smashing faces :D Unfortunately I’m crap at melee (“You are facing the wrong way. You are facing the wrong way.”) and after giving a mage a try, I found my treeee <3 I also tried tanking (on my warrior firstm, in TBC – failed bad -, then on a paladin in Wrath) but it's my least favorite role.

    I think for me it's part nurture and part control freak. As a tank I never felt in control of things, which is, admittedly, my fault, since paying attention to 3 mobs going to chew on clothies is too much for me. As a healer, I feel like I can actually influence the outcome of an encounter. Those last minute Swiftmends that save the day… And, since I'm not the leader type IRL either, I don't mind being the one at the back who never gets recognition. Trying to lead stresses me out real bad so I'm actually happy NOT to be the center of attention.

    Plus, I never really understood "the healing team" idea until I joined one. There's no "DPS team" (though I did feel some kinship with my fellow floor tanks, er melee, in TBC), but I love working together with my fellow healers.

    And a last quick note before I run off to lunch: I was just talking to my best WoW friend (RL and MT in my guild) about healing. She hates druids because HoTs don't do much, she wants to see her heals have an impact. I love my support role and I don't want to be the "star". The "micro" mirrors our "macro" roles very well – she's the leader in the raids, I'm the (moral and healing) support.

    • Healing often seems to be a quiet role. Tanks are very much in the forefront, and DPS have pretty meters to (theoretically) show when they are kicking ass…while healers seem to be more in the background unless they fail. It’s hard to measure those last second saves that keep the raid alive. I know I love those moments in a raid where I know that it was my quick thinking that kept someone alive.

  10. I’m one of my guild’s MTs, but we’re not a progression guild. I have an LK kill in 10-man on her, but our 25-man progress is lacking (theoretically, we’re 10/12 in 25, but it took us months to get BQL down and this was well after we had her to 30% on one of our early tries and after realized someone had turned off the buff). There is a good amount of women in my guild, but few are tanks, and most of them tank on alts, not mains. Surprisingly, most of them aren’t healer mains, but DPS mains, usually of the caster variety.

    I’ve found that if I’m not tanking on my druid, I prefer to be healing, so I have a priest who is my primary main and I also heal on my shaman. I’ve stubbornly resisted healing on my paladin, and while my druid is feral tank/feral dps, for a long time her alt spec was tree (sniff, I will miss you in Cata!) until I realized her healing gear had fallen well behind due to druid healers becoming popular in the guild (and all played by males!). I just love priest healing (I have 4 priests, 2 at 80 and 2 in the low 70s and will be starting a tauren one in Cata).

  11. [...] We are not – with few exceptions – taken the least bit seriously.  We fight for that part. – Why I Heal @ Ecclesiastical [...]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

