I Can Haz Totems: Now With a Flying Potato

Earth Shield has been a dream come true.  The first instance I healed after hitting fifty I barely needed to use a direct heal at all.  While that just may have been luck, it’s been damn nice.  Maybe I’m just a Priest at heart, but a “pulsing” spell that mitigates tank damage as it is taken is just win…almost like a tanking cross between a Power Word: Shield and a Prayer of Mending.

Randoms in BRD on the other hand…  Sigh. I’m not going to turn this into a rant about PUGs, but dear god I’ve had some bad luck with tanks and dps.  There were the two druid tanks in a row outfitted in spellpower cloth (who I refused to heal before they even tried a pull).  The mage who pulled half of the bar and dropped it in my lap and Iceblocked…insisting he didn’t do anything to aggro them.  And of course, it doesn’t help that it’s the longest rambling five man in the universe.  I’m getting a little better with the layout, but you can legitimately spend two hours there doing a full clear.  Of course, when you do get a good group, that’s a lovely chunk of xp.  But I’m getting close to Outlands now…

We’re getting in to the heart of picking talents that are interesting now.  That’s always refreshing.  Everything is fun and exciting to take.  I’m still trying to figure Tidal Waves out.  The idea of having spells that shift around each other depending on what you last cast was very appealing about the class.  It just feels like I need to work out how to finesse using it well.

I’ve also been thinking a lot about Vixsyn’s post about Shaman healing tools and how that’s a great model for Cataclysm heals…and I’m not quite sure how to explain my impressions.  There’s something wonderful about how Shaman spells flow.  It’s odd…I’m used to my Priest and my Druid who both have a large versatile toolbox of skills that I use in different ways depending on the encounter.  My Shaman seems to have a little less to work with, but it’s all so…useful.  There’s no Greater Heal that I just don’t use except on Valithria.  After Earth Shield cast before a harder pull, I usually start with a Lesser Healing Wave to get tank damage in check, and then a Healing Wave to get her topped off, then a chain heal to handle any incidental melee damage.  I like how the rhythm of it works.  I think it’s this – it’s by far the most interesting and engaging tank healing rotation I’ve found.  As a disc priest I’m watching for a couple cooldowns (Weakened Soul and Prayer of Mending), using Penance as needed and available, and otherwise spamming Flash Heal.  On my druid I’m spinning plates keeping up HOTs on two tanks, using Wild Growth on cooldown, and Nourishing anything else.  I’m not sure either one of those is terribly fun though, when you get down to it.  But shifting between spells that all affect each other is.

Obviously, we’ll have to see how I like it when I get to raids…but I’m guessing this is going to be one of the characters I heal with in Cataclysm.  Oddly enough though, it’s my only male character…and that might get a little weird for me.

~ by ecclesiasticaldiscipline on August 20, 2010.

2 Responses to “I Can Haz Totems: Now With a Flying Potato”

  1. I had a very different take on Shaman healing when I first started, I think. Now, Mynn was only enhance all the way through TBC, and filled in for some progression raids when we were missing an enhance shaman but were healer heavy, so I never healed with her until WotLK.

    When I first started I had already leveled Beru and Dannie and felt pretty good with where I was healing with them, but with Mynn I completely felt that I was a jack of all trades – but a master of none. It was frustrating. I could do everything well enough, but I wasn’t exceptional at anything. I really struggled finding a niche for Mynn.

    Because we have a small army of Holy Paladin alts – I started bringing Mynn in for alt raids, and I got much more comfortable with her. I now feel very comfortable healing with Mynn, just like Beru and Dannie, but I still feel a little bit that I’m still a jack of all trades. And perhaps I’m supposed to, but I do think that a lot of people tend to shy away from shaman healing. We joke that we are the shaman graveyard – where shaman come to die. Because we seem to lose them as healers and have a hard time finding resto shaman to suppliment our roster.

    I still think that the biggest complaint that I have about shaman, though, is that I still seem to struggle with managing my mana – moreso than with any of my other healers. Perhaps it’s good practice for Cataclysm, but right now I find it frustrating and think that shaman are in the rear as far as mana regen options are concerned.

    Anyhow! Grats on the flying potato :)

    • I’m not quite sure why I don’t see more Shaman healers…I’ve found it quite engaging. It could be mana, or that they just aren’t as uber-tuned for tank healing as Pallies or as uber-tuned for raid healing as Druids…or maybe people just don’t like them.

      I know a lot of people who just want to play the class of the moment with healers, whatever is awe-inspiring amazing. And I don’t see a lot of Shaman winning the day.

      I’m finding it fun though, and that’s all I can ask for. Thanks for your input.

Leave a Reply

 
