Just….WoW

A few days ago when Codi at Moar HPS posted experiences getting traffic from two links from Wow.com, I didn’t think much of it.  I was amused, and maybe even a little confused at why it would seem that…momentous.  I giggled and went on with my week.

Then it happened to me.

It was a quiet evening.  I had some free time to catch up on my RSS feeds, and was browsing through new posts when I came across The Daily Quest.  In case you’re unfamiliar with it, it is a short daily post that links to four or five recent blog posts on a random topic (gems, healing, and GearScore were all topics this week as an example).  While I’m already following a lot of the blogs linked, I like checking it out to look for blogs that are new to me or reading stand out posts from someone I wouldn’t normally have an interest in following.  So, I’m going through the links thinking: I read that one; it was great.  I read that one already too.  Oh, I haven’t checked out this one.  [Opens it in a new tab.]  Gosh, it’d be swell to be listed here with the real bloggers someday.  Have I read….OMG THAT’S ME.

After managing to get the hinge on my jaw to function again, I logged into my WordPress Dashboard to take a look at my stats.  And it was just as Codi described – in a matter of hours I went from having thirty-some clicks on a good day to having upwards of 2,500 people reading a post.  In a few hours.  And then I checked my post for comments (and there were lots) and found two typos in the post.  Facepalm.

We need to go back a step for some perspective.  I’ve haven’t even been blogging for a whole month, and I’m still feeling this whole thing out.  I’ve already felt stunned than in just a few weeks I’ve attracted interest and thoughtful comments from some of my favorite bloggers.  It feels kinda like having a celebrity drop by your house for a drink and a little chat.  I’m sure the bloggers I’m referring to would be a little startled that I think of them that way, but I’ve been trying to slowly take them off of their pedestals and think of them as monkeys.  (Okay, fine I don’t have  a hunter so the best I could do was call Tam a monkey.  I’m lazy.)  I’ve been feeling very excited about joining the blogging community.  I could probably give a shout out to a dozen people who’ve linked to me or commented or just generally made me feel all special and welcomed and interesting.

Wait, let’s go back more than that.  I started playing WoW in Wrath, and my first character dinged on July 4th last year.  (Yes, we’re coming up on my year anniversary of raiding…and wasn’t it cute that that nice man sent me festive firecrackers to celebrate!)  After a while though I realized that I just wasn’t that great at dps.  I still really liked WoW.  I still really wanted to raid.  But I wasn’t aggressive or competitive or something enough to make a mage work out well.  I was fine at it, but rarely great, and often just getting by. So I decided to try healing, and as it happens I took to it like glue.  My priestess hit 80 in the middle of ToC, and she’s been my main since.  Of course, my confidence was still an issue.  I got  her gear; I got her into ICC.  I raided; I practiced.  I talked to every priest I could about what they did; I read blogs and Elitist Jerks.  And it came together.  One thing lead to another, and now I find myself doing some of the most difficult content in the game with people who think of me as a valuable asset to our raids.  It’s really nifty.

But I’m not an expert on anything.  I’m learning something new every day.  I can’t really compete with someone who has been playing a Priest for, what, more than a half a dozen years?

And now I realize I may have just inadvertently told a couple thousand people how lame I am and why they shouldn’t listen to a thing I say.  See why this is scary?

Back to the present.  So, after editing out my typos, I’m looking through the comments and responding and such.  One of them really struck me, so I’ll quote it here: “I hope to see more content regarding theorycrafting, boss fights, and general disc healing advice on your site. Keep up the good work!”  I felt this moment of paralyzing fear, and  think my legs went numb or something, but my first thought was: I can’t do serious posts.  I can’t do theorycraft.  I am in no way qualified to do that. Except that I am.  Oh, I’m not an expert theorycrafter, and I don’t think I’ll ever be one.  But I’ve done some pretty kick ass things on my priest, and I can probably handle giving advice and sharing experiences with people who aren’t total noobs. I didn’t really realize the extent to which I’d been leaving “serious posts” to the big boys and sticking with the basics.  Cue: sudden realization that I’m avoiding writing posts because I’m scared I might get something wrong.

So later today, you’ll get my first serious post – my breakdown of the Priest talent changes for Cataclysm, featuring some numbers and analysis and everything.  It’s even longer than this monstrosity and I’m really proud of it.  :)

Hell, 2,500 people took a couple minutes out of their day yesterday to pay attention to me because they thought I might be interesting.  I might as well say something.

~ by ecclesiasticaldiscipline on June 18, 2010.

8 Responses to “Just….WoW”

  1. Isn’t it hilarious?! I believe in my head I started shouting “stop linking me!” as I was being entirely intimidated by the whole experience. LOL

    Don’t worry too much about not playing your priest as long as others. It is less about time spent and more about -effort- spent, when it comes to theorycrafting. That is especially so, since the game changes so often. (Disc wasn’t even viable in PvE until Wrath, except as a buff bot!) So… well, I look forward to theorycrafting, too! ;D

  2. Typos challenge us all. They look terribly unprofessional, and I really hate them in other people’s work, yet I have a plethora of my own :(

    I’ve started going through the painful process of going back and re-reading all of my old posts. It upsets me how many I find, and I wish I had a good editor.

    Blogging, and WoW, are serious business, you know!

  3. Okay, first of all, you win at the Internet for linking xkcd in your blog. That’s one of my favourite ones. :)

    Second of all, what I’ve learned in my few months of “serious” blogging is: do what research you can. If you cannot substantiate it, if your thinking is “I’m pretty sure that’s how X works”, stop. Go look it up. Test it out if you can. If you can’t substantiate it, be sure to be like “uh, so I’m not ENTIRELY sure, but I think X works like this… anyone able to chime in?” That way, less being nervous and less chance of being flat-out wrong. (People will TELL you if you’re wrong, and not always in the nicest way.) It also opens up the post for discussion, which is always fun.

    I really do enjoy your posts and hope you’ll keep it up. :)

  4. *groans* I’ve spent days on spreadsheets doing haste calculations before, making sure everything was right. But then there’re also those commentators who “helpfully” point out something you “missed” because they sped-read through it (when you thought you’d covered it adequately), or the ones who argue with you and say you’re wrong when you’re actually right. >_> I spent a couple days second-guessing myself over that, but the math proved me right in the end.

    The way I see it: if I’m wrong, I’m wrong, and I’ve learned something. Just edit the post, give credit where it’s due, and people will still respect you. Just do your best, as others mentioned, to make sure you know what you’re talking about the first time :D Oh, and format to highlight/bold/whatever the major points that are important that the speed-readers might miss.

    Oh, and don’t sweat the miscellaneous typos that occur because you were typing so fast. Only the trolls care. :)

    • Thank you for the encouragement. I’ve been feeling a lot less intimidated by writing more meaty serious posts. I think I was a lot less scared of actually making and being called out on mistakes….as I was feeling like I just hadn’t “arrived” yet as an expert. I still don’t think I’ll be doing much theorycraft; mostly because I wouldn’t know where to start. I’m just getting started with my posts on healing hard modes. Sure, I heal them every week; but I can’t say I have any stunningly amazing insight. However, I think it would be a great challenge for me and that I would learn a lot in the process of engaging my tendency to obsessively research. Anything that makes me a better healer is a good thing; even if I end up looking like an imbecile in the process. :) But really, the blogging community has been very friendly and kind to me.

Leave a Reply

 
