I am Born (the introduction of a baby shaman)

Whether I shall turn out to be the hero of my own life, or whether that station will be held by anybody else, these posts must show. To begin my life with the beginning of my life, I record that I was born (as I have been informed and believe) on a Friday, at ten o’clock at night. It was remarked that the clock began to strike, and I began to kill Dire Mottled Boars, simultaneously.

In consideration of the day and hour of my birth, it was declared by the nurse, and by some sage troll in the Valley of Trials who had taken a lively interest in me several months before there was any possibility of our becoming personally acquainted, first, that I was destined to be unlucky in life; and secondly, that I was privileged to see ghosts and spirits; both these gifts inevitably attaching, as they believed, to all unlucky infants of either gender, born towards the small hours on a Friday night.  That is the way of a Shaman.

If you are confused, you’ve never read Dickens’ David Copperfield.

I’ve always had the goal to have a max level character of each healing class.  Not only does it give me a better idea of how to effectively cross heal with my colleagues in a raid, but it gives me a different perspective on healing in general.  I love figuring out how to use a completely different toolbox to keep people alive, and it gives me a different perspective on healing strategy for fights.  Besides – it’s fun.

I have to admit, the hint of Cataclysm just around the corner was a bit of an impetus to getting this done now.  I’ve never been through an expansion, and I have to admit I’m a touch nervous.  I’m still having a love affair with my priest…but who knows how the changes will affect that.  With the new limits to raiding lockouts I think there will be much more incentive for me to raid on an alt, and I’d like some options in case the upcoming changes affect my characters.  I’m almost completely convinced that I won’t want to play my tree in Cataclysm.  (Damn you Blizzard for taking away my foliage.) Nor am I convinced that an holy paladin is the best choice for me as a raider.  So I’m bringing a Shaman in to this world – not a bad choice for all of that.  I have the feeling that the range of tools available, flexibility in healing role, and the interesting ways each spell works together will be a good fit for a girl who has always adored the versatility of her priest.

Thus, a shaman was born. I went with a male troll – a very interesting addition to my existing harem of blood elves.   I really do enjoy the troll casting animations, and there’s no compelling reason not to.  Regenerate and Berserking are great perks.  I am also curious whether I’ll notice different treatment on a male toon than a female one.  I’m going with Mining/Engineering (another odd choice I know) but it will fill out my professions among my alts, and I’ll need to have a miner again come the expansion.

My initial impressions are still a bit vague.  Of course it’s difficult to tell if one will enjoy healing on a class when you have exactly one healing spell and still spend a good deal of your time smacking boars upside the head with a mace.  I’m glad Blizzard is planning on adding an additional low level melee attack in the future.  The constant pushback trying to cast lightning bolt is terribly annoying, and my BOA’s make my auto attack quite strong comparatively.

I’m looking forward to level twenty, when I get Water Shield, Lesser Healing Wave, and Healing Stream Totem, and of course the iconic Chain Heal at 40.  Meanwhile, I still need to look into a way to effectively manage my totems.  (Suggestions anyone?)  Just clicking on them is working for now, but I’m sure that will be a pain when I have several to put down at once and a myriad of options to choose from.

~ by ecclesiasticaldiscipline on May 30, 2010.

6 Responses to “I am Born (the introduction of a baby shaman)”

  1. I just discovered your blog from a link to your “letting people die” post. So I came back and read you first two posts. And found some interesting things ;-)

    It turns out I have an 80 of every healing class but to be honest I have not healed on the Pallie much. My priest is my main, but I actually enjoy the Shaman and the Druid more. I just prefer the Shaman/Druid healing toolbox more than the priest or the pallie. In Cata one of those will probably end up being my main for the expansion. I will be interested to hear what you think about the 4 healers comparatively.

    Anyway, the point that really caught my eye was the gender thing. I am male, over 40 married with no kids. Most of my toons are male, however I have a few female toons now (3 out of 16). The first one I made was an undead warlock. At that point I had probably leveled at least 8 male toons through the starting areas. But my first female toon kinda scared me.

    If you have not tried a female warlock, they start with a gown that v’s right down to their belly button. It’s only pixels – it does not matter right?

    Well in the time it took me to get 5 levels in the starting area (probably 25 mins) I had many strangers offer to help me, group with me, give me advice, even gift me with items. Four in particular were “very helpful” – I think I ended up putting at least one on ignore. I have never had that on a male toon – it creeped me out. I have been married for about 17 years, I am over 40, my wife is a nurse – she has told me creepy things only nurses would know about. All of those excessively “helpful” (and presumably male) characters in the start area CREEPED ME OUT. OMG is that what girl gamers have to put up with all the time? Is that want women have to put up with all the time?

    I got right on my level 70 (max level at that time) tailor and made her a modest green cotton shirt and mailed it right to her. I run my little lock to Brill to get the shirt and put it on. It was creepy I tell you, creepy.

    So I don’t know how you will find playing a male toon, but it might be very different, or it might not. I would be interest to know.

    Cheers.

    • It sounds like we have a bit in common. As for my healers…I do really enjoy the disc priest toolbox and ability to prevent damage before it happens. On my druid, I definitely miss the ability to instantly put 10K+ HP between anyone and death every single GCD. Maybe I’m just lacking gear (read: haste) or confidence on my tree, but I don’t feel as capable of saving someone who is dying very quickly/close to death. My single greatest amusement about the two classes is how easy it is to top the meters as a druid with one branch tied behind one’s trunk, in comparison to how difficult that can be on a priest. I was stunned at how differently I was treated both by certain guild-mates and pugs after seeing me heal on my tree. But a discussion of how silly healing meters are is the topic for another post… I enjoy healing on both very much. I do feel like druid healing and renew style holy healing have a lot of similarities in feel.

      As for the gender, I’ve heard some interesting stories from friends. I’m very curious, though I suspect I won’t notice much difference. I’m not sure the absence of attention I’ve learned to tune out will be a big deal….especially since tree’s are fairly gender neutral. Regardless, I’ll be posting my impressions either way if you check back in.

      Thank you again for the welcome! In writing a very new blog, it’s really nice to know that someone at least read this and took the time to think about it. I hope to continue to see you around here. :)

  2. Leveling resto shamans are fun but sometimes harsh. I leveled mine almost excclusively from lvl 23 to 78 through randoms (the last two spent questing in Storm Peaks and Icecrown) and up until level 40, I relied on Glyph of Healing Stream totem to help me through. It often made up for 36% of my healing! (And it’s still lovely on some fights in ICC, particularly Sindragosa and Blood-Queen hc.)

    You get insta-drop and insta-pickup of totems around 30 or 40, or maybe it was earlier – my mind is fuzzy. Until then, I dropped them manually, but there may be some totem manager add-on on Curse.

    The only big issue I found with leveling a resto shaman is the mana. I often found myself starving for mana up until around 75, then it smoothened out. And I was coming from having been a disc priest too, so I was often going “must has moar ways to stop stupid deeps standing in fires!” so I let dps die a lot because they annoyed the hell out of me… *cough*

    • Thanks for your tips. I had completely forgotten about picking up glyphs. :)

      • Glyphs are interesting as a resto shaman since they alter the way your healing works completely. You can go from being a tank healer to a raid healer to a passively ticking healer keeping one group up against constant steady damage. It’s quite fun to experiment around with the glyphs, see which ones fit your style.

  3. […] Can Haz Totems: The Teenage Years I’d truly intended to put a little more time into my Shaman by now…but a certain baby Paladin has been a bit […]

Leave a Reply

 
